East Ayrshire Leisure - The Guide May-Aug 2016 Jan Feb March April 2017 - Page 26

LI B R AR I E S H E R ITAG E National Libraries Day 2017 World Book Day SAT 4 FEB · 2PM · £5 · DICK INSTITUTE Join us on National Libraries Day to hear award winning author Sara Sheridan discuss the bestselling Mirabelle Bevan Mysteries which have just been optioned for serialisation by STV Productions. Operation Goodwood, the fifth in the series, has recently been published to great acclaim. Sara is a member of the Historical Writers Association and will also talk about her latest historical epic, On Starlit Seas: a gripping tale of unexpected passion, secrets and escape, set in the chocolate industry in Brazil and London in 1825. Don’t miss the opportunity to meet this multi-talented author and celebrate libraries in style. THU 2 MAR · 7PM · £5 · DICK INSTITUTE Celebrate World Book Day in the company of author Mason Cross. Mason will discuss his latest book in the Carter Blake series – The Time To Kill. High-stakes action, blistering tension and a deadly game of cat and mouse, The Time to Kill is the must-read new thriller from the author. The first book, The Killing Season, was longlisted for the 2015 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award, The second book, The Samaritan, was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club for Spring 2016. Meet the Author – Sara Sheridan The Burns Monument Centre contains East Ayrshire Leisure’s local history, family history and archive collections. The collections cover the people, places and events of Ayrshire’s past: newspapers, maps, historic photographs, and books, pamphlets and periodicals printed in, or about, local towns and villages. The Centre holds Ayrshire newspapers on microfilm from the 1830s to the present day, including the Kilmarnock Standard, Cumnock Chronicle, Irvine Valley News and Ayr Advertiser. The collections are accessible to all, whether you’re researching family history or just fancy a browse. Individuals, groups or organisations can visit and staff will be on hand to help. Scotland’s People, the resource for Scottish family history, is provided by Registration Services at the Centre - call 01563 576695 to book a place. 26 BURNS MONUMENT CENTRE KAY PARK, KILMARNOCK KA3 7RU T: 01563 553654 LOCAL HISTORY TUE, WED, THU: 9AM-5PM FRI: 9AM-4PM ARCHIVES BY APPOINTMENT REGISTRATION SERVICES MON – THU: 9AM – 5PM FRI: 9AM-4PM (APPOINTMENT ONLY) SCOTLAND’S PEOPLE ACCESS MON – FRI TO BOOK CALL: 01563 576695 “WWII is over but Mirabelle’s time in the backrooms of Whitehall has made her the most stylish sleuth in Brighton. Perfect for fans of ITV’s The Bletchley Circle - this races along at a cracking pace!” Meet the Author - Mason Cross “A superior example of the chase thriller” – Morning Star “The chapters are short, the prose is punchy and fast moving making this a proper page turner which maintains a furious pace without draining the reader.” – Crime Fiction Lover Burns Monument Centre is fully accessible eastayrshireleisure.com eastayrshireleisure.com 27