The CSGA Links Volume 1 Issue 6 September, 2013 - Page 34

What’s the Ruling? Tweet us your Rules Questions @CSGALinks #WhatsTheRuling In this edition of What’s the Ruling, we test your knowledge of the rules of golf with five interesting scenarios you are likely to incur on the course. Q: In stroke play during a search for player A’s ball, his fellow competitor , B, accidently kicks the ball, which B subsequently replaces. Does either player A or B incur a penalty for the movement of a ball in play? Answer: Neither Player A or B incurs a penalty for the movement of the ball. Since the ball was moved accidently during a search, B is not penalized under Rule 18-4. Had Player A moved his own ball, whether on purpose or accidently, he would incur a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2. Q: A player’s ball lies in the bunker. He proceeds to remove a pinecone in the bunker which is not in his line of play. Does he incur a penalty for removing a loose impediment from a bunker? Answer: Regardless of whether or not the pinecone was in his line of play, the player is penalized two strokes for violating Rule 13-4c, which prohibits the movement of loose impediments in a hazard. Q: True/False: A player is not permitted to have a flagstick attended unless the ball is on the putting green. Answer: False. Rule 17-1 states: Before making a stroke from anywhere on the course, the player may have the flagstick attended, removed or held up to indicate the position of the hole. If the flagstick is not attended, removed or held up before the player makes a stroke, it must not be attended, removed or held up during the stroke or while the player’s ball is in motion if doing so might influence the movement of the ball. Q: A player makes a practice swing and accidentally moves his ball in play with his club. Does the player incur a penalty, and should his ball be moved back? Answer: The player has not made a stroke at the ball, but does incur a one-stroke penalty for moving his ball in play. He must replace the ball to it’s original position under Rule 18-2a. Q: Players A and B are playing a four-ball match. Thinking that his partner is out of the hole, A picks up B’s ball. Realizing his mistake, he immediately replaces the ball. Does either A or B incur a penalty? Answer: Player B, whose ball was moved, is penalized one stroke for his partner purposely moving a ball in play under Rule 18-2a. Player A, who committed the transgression by moving the ball, is not penalized since the breach of H?[HY??Y?\??[HY??X?\?\??\??&\?^H?\???[?8?&\?^K?????????X?X?]?]H???\????X][???